
WEEKEND AND HOLIDAY DUE DATES…..What You Need To Know  
 
 
 
1) When a due date falls on a weekend or a State of California observed holiday, 

is the due date changed? 
 

No.  The data report or extension request is due on or before the due date.  
 

2) If data are due on a weekend or a State of California observed holiday and are 
formally submitted and approved or an extension request (with extension  
days available) is submitted by the first business day following the due date, 
will a penalty be assessed? 

 
No.  Submissions (data report or extension) made on the first business day following 
a weekend or holiday due date will not result in a penalty.     

3) If data are due on a weekend or a State of California observed holiday and are 
formally submitted and rejected by the first business day following the due 
date, will a penalty be assessed? 

 
a) If a facility has extension days available: 

No.  A penalty will not be assessed.  Automatic extension days will be 
granted (up to seven depending on the number of available days) from the 
day of rejection. 

 
b) If a facility has used all of its extension days: 

Yes.  A penalty will be assessed for each day after the due date to (include) 
the actual date submitted.  The penalty will accrue until the data is formally 
submitted and approved.  A ‘test’ submission does not result in an official 
approval of data.      

4) What happens if a due date is on a weekend or a State of California observed 
holiday but neither a formal data submission nor an extension request (facility 
has extension days available to request) is submitted by the first business day 
following the due date?   
A penalty will be assessed for each day after the due date to (include) the actual 
date submitted.  The penalty will accrue until an extension request is submitted or 
the data is formally submitted and approved.  A ‘test’ submission does not result in 
an official approval of data.   
  
Example:  If data are due on Saturday and the facility formally submits its data and is 
approved (or submits an extension) on Tuesday, penalties will be assessed based 
on the Saturday due date.  A penalty of $100 a day will be assessed for Sunday, 
Monday, and Tuesday ($300).   
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